Job Announcement: A post-doctorate and Ph.D. student positions are available in the area of mixed-signal design of hardware accelerators for AI.

Dr. Sarhan served as the expert witness on the plaintiff’s side in the patent infringement case VideoShare v. Google.

Dr. Sarhan has been awarded a $418,907 collaborative grant by the National Science Foundation for a project to develop a reconfigurable hardware accelerator chip and system for deep learning and AI.

Dr. Sarhan has been inducted into the WSU Academy of Teachers.

Dr. Sarhan led the College of Engineering efforts in developing the interdisciplinary M.S. Degree Program in Artificial Intelligence.


Dr. Nabil J. Sarhan's CV

Dr. Nabil J. Sarhan is an Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Wayne State University and the Director of Wayne State Computer Systems and Deep Learning Research Laboratory. He is a co-director of the interdisciplinary M.S. Program in Artificial Intelligence. He served as the Graduate Program Director of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Chair of the College of Engineering Faculty Assembly. Dr. Sarhan regularly teaches graduate and undergraduate courses in different topics, including computer architecture, computer networking, multimedia systems, and scalable and secure Internet services. He supervised 8 Ph.D. dissertations and 4 M.S. theses and served on 22 other PhD. dissertation committees and 10 other M.S. thesis committees.

Dr. Sarhan is an internationally recognized expert in computer systems, multimedia, video streaming, networking, computer vision, automated video surveillance, deep learning, hardware accelerators for AI, and spiking neural networks. He has published extensively in top venues and has recently been awarded a US Patent on the design of automated video surveillance systems. His research projects have been primarily sponsored by the National Science Foundation, Silicon Mechanics, and Sun Microsystems. Dr. Sarhan

Dr. Sarhan served as the Chair of the Interest Group on Media Streaming of the IEEE Multimedia Communication Technical Committee and as the Co-Director of the IEEE Multimedia Communication Technical Committee Review Board. He served as Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology and is currently serving as an Editor of the ETRI Journal. He served as a Guest Editor and Reviewer for prestigious journals and magazines. Dr. Sarhan has been involved in the organization of numerous international conferences in various capacities, including General Chair, Chair, Technical Program Committee Co-Chair, Publicity Chair, Track Chair, Session Chair, and Technical Program Committee Member. Besides, he has participated as a Panelist in major international conferences. Dr. Sarhan served as a Panelist for the National Science Foundation and the National Institute of Health and as a Site Review Panelist for the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.

Dr. Sarhan has served as an Expert Witness and/or Consulting Expert in numerous patent infringement and other intellectual property and corporate litigation cases related to computer technology, video streaming, multimedia systems, data communication, computer networking, and computer systems.

Dr. Sarhan has served as an Educational Consultant or Expert in the reform, review, and/or accreditation of institutions and undergraduate and graduate programs, including electrical and computer engineering, software engineering, computer and network engineering, and electrical engineering.

Dr. Sarhan received Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in Computer Science and Engineering at the Pennsylvania State University and a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering at Jordan University of Science and Technology.

Dr. Sarhan is the recipient of the IEEE SEM Outstanding Professional of the Year Award, the Wayne State University President's Award for Excellence in Teaching, and the College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching Award. He was inducted into the WSU Academy of Teachers in 2022. Dr. Sarhan was elevated to a Senior Member of the IEEE in 2016.